Maryland "Teacher of the Year" Award Nominations Open

Maryland "Teacher of the Year" Award Nominations Open
Online Entry Forms Available

Meriden, CT-January 23, 2008- Nominations for the Maryland 2007-2008 TOTY(tm) (Teacher of the Year) are being accepted through April 30, 2008. The announcement came from the TOTY Award(tm) sponsor, Teachers' Insurance Plan(tm), a car insurance program exclusively for members of the educational community.
The award will include $1,000 to the winning teacher and $500 grant to that teacher's school. The Maryland TOTY Award(tm) winner will also be eligible for the National TOTY Award (tm) that includes a special recognition and a $2,500 travel certificate.
Recent past state winners include Lawrence Pugh of Mitchellville, Jeremiah Murphy of Upper Marlboro, and Becky Taylor of Huntington.
Teachers, students, and parents can nominate any of the state's more than 65,000 accredited teachers. TOTY(tm) nomination forms are available online at To nominate an educator, or yourself, explain in 250 words or less why this teacher should be the Teacher of the Year. Nominees will be judged on their ability to motivate students, their special talents, and their contribution to their school, students, or educational community.
Winners will be announced at the start of the next school year.
Teachers' Insurance Plan(tm) is underwritten by licensed members of the Response Insurance Group of Companies, as authorized by law.