County Comment: Commissioners proclaim home chemical safety week, award poster winners

PHOTO: Home Chemical Safety Poster Winners Meet Commissioners (L-R) Bill McKinley, Terry Baker, Trinity Schlotterbeck, Joe Curry, Ruth Ann Callaham, Autumn Stone, Jeff Cline, Bethany Norris

County Comment
Commissioners proclaim home chemical safety week, award poster winners
By Norman Bassett
Washington County Public Information Officer

As part of its regular meeting on April 19th, the Washington County Board of County Commissioners proclaimed April 17-23, 2011 as Home Chemical Safety Week (HCSW) in the County and honored 4th grade student winners of the Marlo Barnhart memorial Poster Contest.
Each year the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), Emergency Management and the County Special Operations Team host the poster contest, dealing with home chemical safety, in the elementary schools and a curriculum is presented to students in the fourth grade. The program is supported by a number of local businesses, government agencies, the County Commissioners and the Mayor and Council of Hagerstown. This program is designed to teach children safety rules in the handling and storing of home chemicals as well as knowledge in reading the labels on chemical packaging.
The County Commissioners announced the winners of the Marlo Barnhart Poster Contest, named for Marlo Barnhart, local reporter, a long time member and supporter of the LEPC and the Home Chemical Safety Program, who passed away last year.
Five elementary schools participated in this year's program: Sharpsburg Elementary, Hancock Elementary, Rockland Woods Elementary, Williamsport Elementary, and Pleasant Valley Elementary. Each of the semi-finalists received silver medals, t-shirts and an invitation to attend the County Commissioners meeting during Home Chemical Safety Week to announce the grand prize winners.
The 3rd place award went to Autumn Stone of Hancock Elementary. 2nd place honors went to Joe Curry of Rockland Woods Elementary. The 1st place winner was Trinity Schlotterbeck of Williamsport Elementary. Honorable Mention winners were Elie Bare of Sharpsburg Elementary and Bethany Norris of Pleasant Valley Elementary.
The posters are on display in the hallway of 100 West Washington Street, outside the County Commissioners meeting room of.
All winners received lunch at McDonalds; rides on the Special Operations vehicle, saving bonds, gift cards, certificates and their posters featured in a public service announcement to be aired on local channels.. Each of the top three winners will win a backpack from the LEPC, and a pizza party sponsored by local businesses for their fourth grade classmates held at their respective schools. All students who participated in the program will receive ice cream from Bryers Good Humor.