RECENT ARTICLES
    COMMUNITY CALENDAR
    BUSINESS DIRECTORY
    CLASSIFIED ADS
    PRESS RELEASES
    ARTICLE ARCHIVE
    HOME DELIVERY SUBSCRIPTION
    CONTACT US
    HOME
   
    PONY POSTAL CENTER
    REMEMBER WHEN ANTIQUES
    HAGERSTOWN AUCTIONS
   


 
 

Article Archive >> Summer Tourism

Museums & Historical Sites Guide

Museums & Historical Sites Guide

There are more than 35 museums and historical sites throughout Washington County. Step back into history, see fine art, explore fantastic collections and exhibits, and experience our museums! Our communities are rich in history and we cherish opportunities to keep that history alive. Some of our museums are hands-on, some are world-famous, and some exhibit "firsts" and "onlys." See everything we have to offer, explore the Museums of Washington County.
Below are a few of the 35 museums and historical sites taken from the Hagerstown-Washington County Museum & Historical Sites Guide. To view all, please visit www.marylandmemories.com/museum.
Antietam National Battlefield
Antietam was the bloodiest single-day battle of the Civil War, fought September 17, 1862. Union troops halted the Confederate invasion of the North and the Maryland Campaign of 1862. Five days later, Abraham Lincoln issued the preliminary Emancipation Proclamation. Films, ranger programs, a museum and driving tour maps are available at the Visitor Center.
Location: Antietam National Battlefield lies north and east of Sharpsburg, along MD 34 and 65. The main entrance is off of MD 65, ten miles south of Interstate 70.
Telephone: 301-432-5124
Hours: The Visitor Center opens at 8:30am and closes at 5pm from Labor Day to Memorial Day. It closes at 6pm from Memorial Day to Labor Day. The park roads remain open until dusk.
Website: www.nps.gov/anti
Admission: Fee charged. Passes are good for three consecutive days. All valid Golden Passes are accepted.
Beaver Creek Country School
An authentically refurbished turn-of-the-century classroom stands as a memorial to all the capable schoolmasters of Washington County, Maryland, who for more than a century made our one and two room schools the educational and cultural centers of their communities. Special interest items are the desks, books, slates, wallchart and other educational items. Across the hall in the Museum room are vignettes of small shops of the period and special exhibits of local collectors.
Location: Beaver Creek Church Road
Telephone: 301-797-8782
Hours: Open by appointment only
Admission: Fee charged
Fort Frederick State Park
Fort Frederick was built by the colony of Maryland in 1756 to protect the frontier settlers during the French and Indian War. The fort also saw action during the American Revolution and Civil War. The park offers interpretive programs and special events annually.
Location: Eighteen miles west of Hagerstown - one mile south of I-70 (Rt. 56 Exit 12) near Big Pool, Maryland.
Telephone: 301-842-2155
Website: www.dnr.state.md.us/publiclands/western/fortfrederick.html
Hours: April 1-October 31, 8am-Sunset (7 Days/week). Nov.1 - Mar. 31, Mon-Fri 8am-Sunset. Sat, Sun Holidays 10am-sunset. Closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.
Admission: Free, except for special events.
Hancock Town Museum
Permanent display of the town's history featuring old photographs, memorabilia of old businesses and newspaper articles. Early tools collection. Large Hancock postcard collection.
Location: Corner of High Street and Pennsylvania Avenue in Hancock.
Telephone: 301-678-7377/301-678-6308
Hours: 2nd and 4th Sunday each month April thru October
Admission: Donations accepted.
The McGraw-Shay House
The original stone structure was built circa 1754 with brick additions in 1803 and 1912. Further architectural modifications were made during the early 1900's. The house contains opulent period rooms which are authentically restored to their 1860s appearance and includes fine furnishings such Cornelius Astral lamps, Baltimore black marble and the ensemble of New York carved Meeks furniture. Also available is a collection of military memorabilia that includes all aspects of the soldier's life during the War of the Rebellion.
Location: On the square in Sharpsburg
Telephone: 301-432-6366
Hours: By appointment
Admission: Donations accepted
Williamsport Town Museum
The Town Museum is dedicated to preserving and honoring Williamsport's Past, Present and Future. Exhibits include: The C&O Canal, Boom Days, The Coming of the Railroad, The Roads Run with Blood - Crossroads of War, Postwar Williamsport: A Time of Change, 20th Century Williamsport by way to Highway, A modern community develops, and Springfield Farm a constant witness to change.
Location: 14 Springfield Farm Lane
Phone: 301-223-7711 or 301-223-5859
Admission: None
Wilson School
Rufus Wilson built the school in 1857 for his remaining child so the child would not have to travel to school. The school is outfitted in remarkable detail. Child-sized straw hats and bonnets hang in the entryway, along with the assorted junk of long-ago childhood - a skate blade, a skein of yarn. Books from the 19th century line the shelves. The main room boasts a potbelly stove, an old piano and 14 two-student desks, each with an inkwell. There are half-finished lessons on the blackboard and desks, and a tall paper dunce cap stands on the stool in the corner.
Location: 40 west just past the Conococheague Creek on Rufus Wilson Road.
Telephone: 301-582-4718
Hours: Open by appointment only
Admission: None

This information was provided by the Hagerstown/Washington County Convention and Visitor's Bureau - www.marylandmemories.com

Printable version

<< back to Articles on Summer Tourism
<< back to All Articles